The Catholic University of Lyon was founded in 1875 and combines respect for Christian heritage with a spirit of openness.

With its location at the heart of the regional capital, its close ties to business and strong international links, it seeks to promote academic excellence, creativity and integrity.

UCLy's 6 faculties:

  • Legal, Political and Social Sciences
  • Economic Sciences and Management
  • Natural Sciences and Biotechnology
  • Modern Languages and Literature
  • Theology and Religious Sciences
  • Philosophy, Pyschology and Education

The Catholic University of Lyon has :

  • 6 faculties with undergraduate and postgraduate courses
  • 5 professional schools of higher education
  • 1 Research Unit made up of 8 interdisciplinary research clusters
  • 11 000 students and auditors, including 1 000 international students
  • 200 permanent lecturers
  • 460 administrative and technical staff

The Catholic University of Lyon (UCLy) is geographically located in the heart of the city, at a crossroads, at a "confluence", and this geographical location is a good illustration of UCLy's university project: it involves creating a dialogue between the disciplines as well as opening up education to contemporary society and the challenges that characterize it: challenges related to digital development and the resulting challenges for the understanding of the "human"; challenges related to the dialogue of cultures and to globalization; environmental challenges to which all our students are very sensitive and attentive.

Professor Olivier ARTUS, Rector of UCLy